DrMatt's Imperial Armored Commando build

I really want to help out and troop with the 501st... and this is my first build.  I was told by my local Garrison that I should make a build thread, so... here it is!  (I'm really worried that I'm going to get to the end of this and there's going to be some major change I need to make.)  Thanks for Francois for the help (and the creation of the CRL)... No matter!  Here we go...

I'm primarily using Big Fred's STL files.  Printing primarily on an Anycubic Kobra 2 Max (also have (my first) smaller Creality Ender-3).

I wanted to do the "easy" pieces first to start to understand the process of building.... big pieces without much detail - jetpack and shin armor.

Because I didn't have a large printer yet, I had to print these in pieces and then glue them together.  It's much easier to print on a larger printing in fewer pieces, but I did learn how to deal with seams.   With increasing confidence, I printed out the chest pieces and started to work on those.  I continued to print out every other piece as my confidence grew.

Started to develop my own understanding and process of filling, sanding, painting... and sanding and painting and sanding...

Currently I'm working on the helmet.  After learning that one of my belts was loose and destroying my prints at the very end, my fourth-try helmet was finally printing.  I'm currently on the paint phase of the helmet.  I'm kinda proud of my work on this.

Now I've caught you all up on my build.  Here are some pics.

IMG_2643.jpeg

IMG_3460.jpeg

IMG_2629.jpeg

Welcome, Matt! (I'm from the GGG and am the one who suggested you start this thread.)

Looks like you're making good progress! If you haven't noticed already, you're very limited in the size and number of photos you can upload directly to the forum, so we suggest you host your photos elsewhere (eg imgur or similar) and embed links instead.